What is IoT?

Facundo Diaz
3 min readApr 11, 2021

First of all, in order to understand the concept of IoT we should look for a definition that describes what iot is, so if we google quickly we can find several definitions about IoT but I am going to stay with the definition that oracle provides us.

The Internet of Things (IoT) describes the network of physical objects (things) that carry integrated sensors, software and other technologies in order to connect and exchange data with other devices and systems over the Internet. These devices range from everyday household items to sophisticated industrial tools.

Information obtained from Oracle

Now that we have a basic definition of what IoT is, I am going to explain to you, what it is used for and give you some examples from everyday life that work with IoT.

The IoT has many functionalities, and it is applied to many activities today, in the day to day we can see it in our homes, most homes have some home automation device, be it automatic lights, curtains, garage, or some type of assistant. We all envied Tony Stark with his avant-garde assistant named Jarvis, I don’t know about you, but I always wanted to have my own, in fact when I was 12 years old I programmed my own Jarvis, I could not build my own iron man suit but I could open chrome with my voice, we leave that story for another day.

The important thing here is that we have all seen / used some IoT device and it will be more and more normal.

Since we saw examples from the home, I am going to show you large-scale examples in which the IoT brought great development and improvements.

The IoT in the industry became so important that it is sometimes called the fourth wave of the industrial revolution or 4.0. Industry
Some examples that I help to improve this technology are, for example, the intelligent manufacturing of many products, preventive and predictive maintenance, connected and intelligent logistics, intelligent digital supply chains, intelligent electrical networks, and although they do not believe it, even smart cities, yes You read that right, smart cities.

Here is a link that will take you to a website that has examples of some smart cities that currently exist, if you are interested in the subject, I recommend you see that website →→→→→→SMART CITY

As some of you may know, and for those who don’t, I am currently studying at Holberton School Uruguay, and last week in Holberton we had the opportunity to talk with Guillermo Jacobi, who is the current cto of Zonamerica. The talk was based on IoT, which is, how it works, how it is applied, personally this talk gave me a broader vision about this topic.

Guillermo told us about some experiences he had working with this issue, one of the applications he told us was a few years ago, there was a city in Argentina that suffered from floods every time it rained, and it occurred to them that with technology they could solve This issue, then the team in charge of solving this, installed rain sensors to be able to calculate how much water was falling in order to prevent the consequences of excess water.

I hope you liked this mini introduction to the IoT, below I put my Linkedin in case you want to talk about this, thanks for reading

Facundo Diaz

--

--